Closing October 2023

The 31 eventful days of October felt like 3 years of my life when I was younger (and I thought back then, my life happened fast). Nowadays, I feel like moments are more fleeting, people come and go more often, so you have to strive to hold on the the gift of present as much as you can.

I’ve been chasing tangible achievements in a seemingly endless pace, and sometimes it can be taxing I sometimes forget to cherish the process. Or it usually happens once a major task is over, or when there’s a moment to reflect. A friend told me that I should learn how to consciously pause and sit still. Take it easy. but me being me, it’s not easy to take it easy (^_^) I’ve always wanted planned change; I even pursued a scholarly field about planned social change, but life lately taught me I can’t always plan my desired change. I need learn how to adapt to it as life gets more complex, uncertain, and vulnerable. Sometimes, or perhaps most of the time, it is about swimming with the tide.

It will be about 11 Fridays left before 2024…I do not know what lies beyond. What I know is that I just want to cherish and nurture meaningful connections no matter how fleeting, serendipitous, or even longer than fleeting it is. Ah yes, I remember vividly, that phrase, “one step at a time,” which now carry a different, deep, and very personal meaning.

Leave a comment