363 days ago.

I was “rummaging” the old stuff (my past year’s journal entries) and found this entry (probably I have posted this in my multiply or livejournal site, heck X.X).

Sometimes it feels good to be nostalgic.

Tuesday, December 23, 2008

“You tend to give everything you’ve got,” Renelle, my HS friend told me over dinner a while ago, “That’s why you’re not supposed to have a boyfriend yet.”

I stopped in my tracks, the spicy pizza was left in the mid air “Really?” was all I could say.

My friend was looking at me with her all-knowing look.  “I should know,” she finally said.

I don’t know what I actually get from doing things for everyone.  What would I want, something in return?  I tend to give all that I’ve got when asked to; I don’t know how I came into this being, but when a person said s/he needs me, I’m always there on their feet, at their utmost service.  Maybe it gives me the drive that when I am needed, I feel important, that’s why I do all of these.  I become a good friend, an excellent assistant, a caring daughter.  Most of the time, because it just feels good to show everybody around me that they are important to me.  I just hope I am successful in letting them feel those things.  When the person that I decided to give special attention to doesn’t recognize my efforts, then I go to people whom I think would value my efforts more.  I wish the fervor that I feel will still intensify in 2009 and I will continue to be a better person each day.

Christmas Gift  Suggestions:

To your enemy, forgiveness.

To an opponent, tolerance.

To a friend, your heart.

To a customer, service.

To all, charity.

To every child, a good example.

To yourself, respect.

– Oren Arnold

363 days has passed  and I think I have changed a bit; knew when to detach and be more objective of things; although sometimes I can’t help it when people, especially those that I care about, tells me about their love problems. Sometimes, a friend earnestly puts it, I should know when to stop and listen intently. Draw the line between listening and providing unsolicited advice. Know when to shut up especially if I have never been in the same place. But nobody can ever be in the same situtaion. Maybe familiar patterns or templates of  events. In the end, it’s the same rule. I hurt seeing my  loved ones hurt; be it friends or family. I don’t know if I have been a better person this year; but I must say I am starting to be more knowledgeable of the world; even if maybe a bit. Hopefully, next year, I can start try spreading my wings.

Spread my wings; right, I’d really want that.

Leave a Reply

