Of overdriving and friendships.

It’s fun when you take the steering wheel and lead your friends to your desired destination. You’re like a pilot that will be sole responsible of the journey and make your passengers comfortable.

But I realized it kind of touches the heart when someone drives for you once in a while.

This guy has driven automatic shift car only once in his life; And twice when I needed his help to move my Tatay’s official pick up from the garage, thrice, to take our car out of the garage, after he took out my Tatay’s car, and fourth, was this moment, after we drove everyone else, my former officemates, to the terminal.

I may be presumed easy; but, I was moved with the fact, well,  someone stood their ground to drive for me. It was in his trait to be a risk-taker, and for some reason, I entrusted him our family car, even my Father’s official car (he was chosen because of administrative accountability). After several driving tasks, for once, I took the passenger seat.

The view looks nice from the right edge of seat, I realized. As he sat behind the wheel, random conversations, hearty  laughs and meaningful silence seeped in.  See, I’ve been driving all my life for the people I care, but, sometimes, when someone was too willing to take the wheel and steer you to your desired direction, it feels nice, too. He was stepping on the brakes abruptly, obviously trying to adjust; I was too happy to give in to his whim to drive an automatic car, but at one point, as we swerve through his company building, he said “I wanted to test this car so later, I can drive for you, and you can rest on that seat,” he beamed.

I can only I smile back and be thankful.

God gives me wonderful friends, indeed.

who’s gonna tell you when
it’s too late
who’s gonna tell you things
aren’t so great
you can’t go on
thinking nothing’s wrong
who’s gonna drive you home tonight

who’s gonna pick you up
when you fall
who’s gonna hang it up
when you call
who’s gonna pay attention
to your dreams
who’s gonna plug their ears
when you scream

you can’t go on
thinking nothing’s wrong
who’s gonna drive you home tonight

who’s gonna hold you down
when you shake
who’s gonna come around
when you break

-Drive, Ziggy Marley (The Cars)

2 thoughts on “Of overdriving and friendships.

Leave a Reply

