Calamansi Cupcakes

I first tried Calamansi cupcakes at Real Coffee, Station 1, Boracay just this February. As I stepped in to the tropical themed (read: nipa huts and the likes) almost elusive establishment, The creamy-tangy goodness wafted in the air. I had my first bite, and boy, it was indeed worth the long walk all the way from station three (not to mention we had to walk in the scorching heat at 2pm!).

Two months since the Boracay experience and I found myself one day craving for it.  I wanted to sink my teeth into those yummy cupcakes! But oh, I don’t have Php 6,000 (USD 140.2) to come all the way to that little Aklan heaven. So I tried to search for it in the internet and voila! Aileen Anastacio saved my day!

So I tried the Yummy recipe; and it was fool proof!

Image

The butter, as indicated in the recipe, should be this soft, your finger should almost "embed" in this adipose-tissue developer block.

Image

The recipe indicated it the butter and eggs should be creamed. So it should look something like this.

Image

And so, after almost an hour (because I was not able to buy cupcake liners), I had to reuse my non-stick cupcake pan three times; but if I had cupcake liners, the baking time would definitely be much shorter).

Lessons Learned

Calamansi flavor is subjective. I ran short of Calamansi syrup (in the recipe it, said 1/3 cup and I didn’t even reach the 1/3 in my mixing cup). I bought about 0.225 kg of Calamansi in store, thinking it would reach 1/3 cup, maybe next time, I will try to buy around 0.3-0.4 kg. It really depends on the taste of the people who’d eat it. My family said  that the tanginess was enough for them, so 1/3 cup for them won’t work.

It was a bit burnt, I realized it’s all about the temperature and the timing. The Yummy magazine said to set the temperature at 350 (Farenheit) for 20 minutes, but on the 8th-10th minute, it started to smell like the cake burned! :) :) :) Maybe I’ll try to lower the temperature next time.  Let’s see.

I tried to make the icing, and it was buttery (though I only used 6 tbsps of butter). The cupcake can stand alone, but you’ll have more than one (I had four pieces!). But if you had it with icing, you’ll be sold out with just one piece :) It would taste so rich.

Total cost: definitely more than 10x lower than going to Boracay. And it’s worth sharing.

A quick trivia about the star product–err– crop of the day: 

Calamansi (in Bisaya, they call it Limonsito—kinda cute, eh?) Citrofortunella microcarpa is a perennial crop from the Philippines, and it is also known as the Philippine Lemon. It can be used in so many ways (dips, juice, medicine, jams, soap etc). It is easy to grow, except in waterlogged areas. It can be propagated through its vegetative parts (the parts of the plant to grow new set of plants).

Leave a Reply

